Hippie Status? Not Quite

Another thing that has surfaced my thoughts, is whether or not I sound like a hippie, or appear that way to others. Some of my friends used to think that I was a bit of a hippie, besides the fact I don’t smoke. They would look at the way I acted, spoke, and dressed and call me out on it. Whether it was through wearing floral designs, buying flowery cards, or speaking about life and love, I was perceived by some as a hippie. I have no problem with being called a hippie, other than the fact that it may ensue that I do drugs… because it seems like a peaceful way to live. I like to live clean and “go green,” I enjoy sitting out on the grass thinking about life, but I do not like that hippie’s have gained such a negative reputation. I’m not a hippie, I just like to do hippie things. When you think of a hippie what comes to mind? Headbands, peace signs, guitar, drugs, and vans? Let’s change our perception on life, and our attitudes. A hippie is not what they smoke or how they dress, but what they feel and think. Their views on life are different than my views on life which are not the same as yours. Why don’t we bury the hatchet, and put the stereotype to rest. Hippie school’s may not be accepted by some, but to others they may be the best. Let’s stop stereotyping and start living based on values and precedence. I’m not a hippie, I’m just friendly and happy go lucky once you get to know me. I know this is a bit of a rant, and may seem insignificant and judgmental in itself, but I felt it needed to be said. Peace! ✌️

Leave a comment